Main / Congress / Venue

Venue

St. Petersburg, Tavricheskiy Palace

The Nevsky International Ecological Congress takes place in the Tavricheskiy Palace that is the headquarters of the Interparliamentary Assembly of the CIS Member Nations. The Tavricheskiy Palace offers an ideal blend of an advanced technology platform for MPs to work at and a splendid historic interior. The palace features all the rooms and halls required for holding major international symposia, conferences, forums and business meetings.


The Tavricheskiy Palace is an outstanding monument of St. Petersburg architecture, garden and park art, history and culture. Some of the best architects, painters, decorators, gardeners, sculptors and portrait artists from the 18th through the first half of the 19th century contributed to its creation and transformation. Located in St. Petersburg’s historic centre, the palace stands next to the Tavricheskiy Garden – one of the city’s most beautiful.

History overview

1783 year – construction starts on a structure known as the “Cavalry House” intended as a country residence for Empress Catherine II’s aide Grigory Potemkin-Tavricheskiy.

1789 year – construction completed.

1792 year – one year after Grigory Potemkin’s death, Catherine II renames his former residence the Tavricheskiy Palace and the Crown repossesses it, together with the adjoining garden, to settle the late Count’s debts.

1791–1796 years – the Tavricheskiy Palace is remodelled and its garden expanded. The Tavricheskiy Palace becomes one of Empress Catherine II’s favourite residences.

1799 year – Emperor Pavel I orders the palace to be converted into a barracks. Within days, the palace was ravaged and its gallery turned into stables and a horse-riding hall.

1802 year – Emperor Alexander I orders the barracks to be removed and the palace interior restored. Following the restoration, the palace obtained the status of an inter-seasonal imperial residence and was used by the royal family to stage various celebrations and to host ranking guests and ambassadors.

1899–1905 years – Тthe Tavricheskiy Palace becomes famous above all as a venue for major all-Russia and international fairs of the time, as well as for important public events. It also hosted the Alexander Pushkin centennial celebrations in 1899.

1905 year – Emperor Nicholas II makes the Tavricheskiy Palace the home of Russia’s first parliament – the State Duma.

1917 year – following the 1917 February Revolution, the palace accommodated the Provisional Government and various political organizations.

1918–1991 years – throughout the Soviet era, the Tavricheskiy Palace was home to a number of higher educational institutions, hosted gala receptions and welcomed official delegations.

Невский международный экологический конгресс проводится в Таврическом дворце, который является штаб-квартирой Межпарламентской Ассамблеи государств – участников СНГ. В Таврическом дворце идеально сочетаются современная техническая база для работы участников Конгресса и прекрасные исторические интерьеры. Площадка вмещает в себя все необходимые помещения и залы для проведения крупных международных симпозиумов, конференций, форумов и деловых встреч.

Адрес: Россия, Санкт-Петербург, Шпалерная ул., д. 47

Ансамбль Таврического дворца – выдающийся памятник архитектуры, садово-паркового искусства, истории и культуры Санкт‑Петербурга. В его создании и преобразовании участвовали лучшие архитекторы XVIII – первой половины XIX века, художники-декораторы, садовые мастера, скульпторы и портретисты. Дворец расположен в историческом центре Санкт-Петербурга, к нему примыкает Таврический сад – один из красивейших садов города.

Историческая справка


1783 год – начало возведения сооружения, которое называлось Конногвардейским домом и строилось как загородная резиденция помощника императрицы Екатерины II Григория Потемкина-Таврического.

1789 год – завершение строительства.

1792 год – через год после смерти Григория Потемкина дворец был переименован Екатериной II в Таврический дворец и вместе с садом отошел в казну в счет погашения долгов покойного князя.

1791–1796 годы – перестройка Таврического дворца и расширение территории дворцового сада. Таврический дворец превратился в одну из любимых резиденций императрицы Екатерины II.

1799 год – по указу императора Павла I Таврический дворец был передан под казармы. В считанные дни дворец был разорен, а галерея превращена в конюшни и манеж.

1802 год – император Александр I издал указ о перемещении казарм и восстановлении интерьеров дворца в прежнем виде. После реставрации дворец приобрел статус межсезонной императорской резиденции, использовался царской семьей для проведения различных праздников, а также для приема высокопоставленных гостей и послов.

1899–1905 годы – Таврический дворец был известен, прежде всего, как место проведения крупнейших всероссийских и международных выставок того времени и значимых общественных мероприятий. Здесь же в 1899 году проводились юбилейные торжества по случаю столетия со дня рождения Александра Пушкина.

1905 год – решением императора Николая II Таврический дворец был предоставлен для работы первому российскому парламенту – Государственной думе.

1917 год – после февральской революции в 1917 году во дворце размещались Временное правительство и различные партийные организации.

1918–1991 годы – на протяжении всего советского периода в здании Таврического дворца располагались высшие учебные заведения, а также проводились торжественные приемы и встречи официальных делегаций.